A Fond Farewell to Summer in The Potomac Heights Garden

Standard

So it has actually come, the end of the summer and the end of my internship. Next week will be my last week in the garden and I hand the reigns off to the club on September 2. It is bittersweet because I will miss the garden terribly but I cannot wait to see how amazing it looks with all of the input from a group of pretty amazing gardeners. This has been the best job I’ve ever had (not an exaggeration) and I am so glad to have been chosen for it.

I will be having the final Summer Farmers Market on Thursday August 25 from 11am to 1:30pm; please stop by! and if anyone feels so inclined as to join me and sell some lovely produce, I am not opposed 🙂 Also if you want to come out this week or next to help me harvest or weed or mow, please feel very welcome.

Please never stop teaching people the importance of growing food and understanding that a little bit of work goes such a long way. It is so vital to understand the roots of our food and to rediscover a skill that is disappearing.

This is not goodbye, because I will definitely be back to volunteer; it is simply a see you in a little while 🙂 Thanks for all of the good times and the good food

~amanda

(and now some photos!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About gmugarden

Greetings current or potential vegetable people! This site is devoted to the vegetable garden that exists at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. The aim of the site is to keep people like you updated on the garden happenings and to show progress to those who can't participate! Enjoy and happy vegetable eating :)

Leave a Reply

