A Summer in the Garden ~ Summer 2014

Standard

Wow! Here we are yet again summer ~ what a great year it’s been and it’s only about to get even better! Welcome new and familiar veggie friends to the Potomac Heights Garden Blog, I’m SO happy that you have found us 🙂 My name is Christine Harris, and I’m so incredibly excited to be the care-taker of the Potomac Heights Veggie Garden for the summer. If you are going to be in the NoVA area this summer and want to learn how to sustainably grow your own food, build community, share laughs and good times ~ come join me in the garden!

I’ll be pretty active posting hours, events, gardening/farming tips, pictures, etc. on this blog spot, as well as the GMU Organic Gardening Association (GOGA)’s Facebook…hint, hint – so make sure to “Like” our page!

GOGA is looking for Mason students who are interested in being a part of the leadership family! We have TWO positions open (secretary & treasurer) and would love for you to join us! Please comment below or send us a message through Facebook if you are interested.

So…who’s ready to get their hands DIRTY?! Here are the hours that I will be in the garden ~ come on by, there’s ALWAYS lots to do so I would love the company! Plus, you get to take home fresh, organic veggies afterwards…YUM!

MONDAY 3PM-8PM
TUESDAY 8AM-1PM
WEDNESDAY OFF
THURSDAY 8AM-1PM
FRIDAY 3PM-8PM

*Summer garden hours will officially start on TUESDAY, MAY 27*

If you have any questions/need to get a hold of me for whatever reason – please don’t hesitate to give me a holler! Feel free to call me on my cell phone (804) 502-4655, or shoot me an e-mail: charri24@gmu.edu

So, a little bit about me! I am a (rising) junior, studying biology at George Mason University. Born and raised in Richmond, VA – although everyday truly believing more and more that our true home is not one stagnant place, but the whole of the Earth – and what a wonderful home it is! I’m a believer in the powers of connection and manifestation, and that we (people, plants, animals) are more like each other than not because of three simple things: water, food, and love. My life has completely changed since my first visit to the Potomac Heights Veggie Garden my freshman year at Mason – I just can’t get enough of the joys of growing your own food, healing not only your body but the earth as well, alongside your friends and the forces of nature. I am by no means a master at gardening, but I am so happy to teach you what little I do know, learn from you as well as learn together! Here’s to a summer of exploration, learning, and loving ~ cheers!

Image
Thanks, ya’ll! HAPPY SUMMER!
☮&♥
~Christine ~

Here are just a few of the things that are growing in the garden right now!

Image

One of two peach trees in the garden! Nothin’ like biting into a big, juicy peach on a hot summer day!

Image

Mullein – one of my top ten FAVORITE plants! So many medicinal properties, and so beautiful! Dry the leaves for tea – great for the respiratory, musco-skeletal, and nervous systems

Image

Jerusalem artichokes, also known as Sunchokes, make for a great “fedge” (food-hedge) to deter deer from entering your garden. bake the tubers or toss them in your stir-fry, yum!

Image

Baby cucumbers!

Image

Asparagus. Harvest your stalks when they reach about 6″ for best taste, make sure to let some grow tall and go to seed so you can continue to harvest for years to come 🙂 !

Image

Rhubarb – perennial, use the stalks in a strawberry-rhubarb pie, mmm mmm mm!

Image

found some fungi under the radishes! this kind is NOT edible – but OH SO important for a healthy garden!

Image

Catnip – dry the leaves and use in a calming tea or stuff in a play toy for your cat, crazy how opposite the effects are! 😉

About gmugarden

Greetings current or potential vegetable people! This site is devoted to the vegetable garden that exists at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. The aim of the site is to keep people like you updated on the garden happenings and to show progress to those who can't participate! Enjoy and happy vegetable eating :)

One response »

  1. I like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and coverage! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll. dgagekedeedg

Leave a Reply

