Summer Gardening 2015: 7/25 Update

Standard

Hello Gardeners!

I hope everyone is doing well and enjoying their summer tans.
I’ll begin by getting right into things. I pulled up the horseradish on July 10th because the leaves were looking a little rough and figured it was time. It wasn’t until after digging it up that I decided to look up online when I should be doing this; one website said to do it in late summer. Although I pulled the horseradish a little early, it still made a good amount after grating it. If i recall correctly, the website also said that i could put the tubers back in the ground and it would come back later so I saved a few large roots for that. Fresh horseradish is pretty strong. I had to look away at times when grating it.

20150710_174247 20150710_185612

As promised, here are some photos of the tomatillos. These photos are from the 12th, but just imagine them a little bigger and twice as many. They’re really taking off!

20150712_103511 20150712_103533

The summer squash (crookneck) is also flourishing and it seems that most plants are bearing fruit. They’re covered in flowers and there has been no cases of mildew yet.

20150712_103151

After becoming acquaintances with another student who used the garden for a nice place to study, we both started talking about fig trees. His family gifted him one years ago and bears fruit regularly. We went over to the ones at the garden and found three (one already on the ground) already ripe! I didn’t get a picture of the first one, but the second, a little older one was just as delicious. It was my first time having a fig (save for Fig Neutons) and it blew me away how sweet it was. They also have beautiful coloration inside. There are tons of unripened figs on the two trees and I look forward to eating them all sharing them with everyone.

20150712_153152 20150712_153240

It seems that the deer didn’t eat all of the sunflowers transplanted from our Spring Seedling Sale.20150724_121840

Just yesterday I harvested a bunch of garlic. I gifted a few to the staff of Potomac Heights and with the rest I think I’ll weave a garlic rope. I’ll post a picture in the next update if it goes well (and I won’t if it doesn’t)!

20150724_164049

I hope everyones’ summers are enjoyable and I see some of you soon.
Until then, Happy Gardening!
Ethan

About gmugarden

Greetings current or potential vegetable people! This site is devoted to the vegetable garden that exists at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. The aim of the site is to keep people like you updated on the garden happenings and to show progress to those who can't participate! Enjoy and happy vegetable eating :)

Leave a Reply

